Homeschooling in Colorado is made easy by the Department of Education, providing three options to homeschool effectively. Even the Colorado homeschool laws are much simpler than other homeschool state laws with fewer requirements.
If you want to start homeschooling in Colorado but don’t know where to start, in this article, I will give you an A-Z Guide on the Colorado Homeschool laws, homeschool groups, Record-keeping, Graduation requirements and the three homeschool options in Colorado.
Colorado Homeschool Requirements:
There are three options to homeschool in Colorado:
Homeschooling with an independent school:
In Colorado, two or more families can homeschool as an Independent school, following the required process of minimal record keeping, teaching the required subjects under the independent schools’ supervision.
Homeschooling with a Certified teacher:
If you are a certified teacher in Colorado, you can homeschool your child even without notification.
Homeschooling under Colorado’s homeschool statute:
While Homeschooling under Colorado’s homeschool statute, you have to be a parent or the guardian to homeschool your child.
Letter of Intent:
Before you begin homeschooling in Colorado, file an annual letter of intent 14 days on starting homeschool with a Colorado school district to notify that your child will not be attending public school.
For Homeschoolers, the letter of Intent should include the following:
- The name and age of your child (Compulsory attendance age is between 6 -17 yrs according to Colorado Homeschool laws)
- The name and signature of the Parent/Guardian
- Hours to teach your child
- Home Address
On the other hand, teaching begins at age 7 and you stop submitting letter of Intent when the child gets to age 16.
How many days to Homeschool
You teach your child for 172 hours on a average of 4 hours per day.
Teach these Subjects:
- The United States Constitution,
- Literature, and
In line with the Colorado Homeschool laws, use any Curriculum of your choice provided it covers these subjects. There is no specific curriculum from the Department of Education.
Homeschool Testing in Colorado
Every child homeschooling in Colorado is tested with a nationally standardized assessment with at least a 13% score from the test. The test is given to the child in grades 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11.
If you do not test your child, the child can be evaluated by a qualified teacher, a psychologist, or someone with an advanced degree in education in Colorado. The result of the test is submitted to the school district, where you sent the annual letter of intent to homeschool.
Record Keeping in Colorado Homeschool:
Record Keeping is essential while homeschooling. Even if the state doesn’t include record keeping as a requirement, it is necessary. You can keep records as proof of homeschooling or in case you want to stop homeschooling in Colorado.
Here are the major documents you need to put in your records:
- Curriculum used for teaching
- Test & evaluation results
- Immunization records
- Quizzes and Rough works
All these records will compile into a Homeschool Portfolio which you need when you want to go back into public school.
A Homeschool portfolio is a record of all the major activities done during the period of homeschooling. It should include the curriculum, core subjects and electives, and the educational progress of the child during homeschool.
Furthermore, record keeping is mostly done on pen and paper, but with a Homeschool Tracker, you can use software to keep track of the number of hours to homeschool, the subjects, and the progress of the child. For more details on the homeschool tracker, check here.
Colorado Homeschool Groups:
Christian Home Educators of Colorado help you homeschool with confidence. They host events to help you connect and meet with other homeschoolers who are more experienced with homeschooling.
A homeschool group in Colorado that helps you homeschool under the Colorado homeschool laws. They provide the necessary assistance and connections for effective homeschool.
Participation Extracurricular Activities:
A child has the right to participate in extracurricular activities in the school district where the letter of Intent was filed.
There are no graduation requirements in-line with the Colorado Homeschool laws, but you need to know when to graduate your child.
In Colorado homeschool, the law requires that a child between the ages of 6 and 17 attends a public school or private school(Homeschool). Thus if you have homeschooled your child till age 17, and you know your child is fit to move into college, you can graduate him/her.
On the other hand, your child doesn’t get a High school diploma after graduation for Colorado Homeschool. A diploma is for public school students, but there is a way of getting an equivalent to that of High school. It’s got by taking a HiSET (High school Equivalency Test) exam.
What is the HiSET Exam? According to HiSET, the exam is one of three tests U.S. states and territories use to measure high school equivalency skills. You take it to demonstrate you have the same skills and knowledge as a high school graduate. And doing so can help you create a whole new future.
The good news is that HiSET credential is accepted everywhere, you get it at your own pace but the only thing is that you need to be at least 18 years of age.
Enrolling in Public school after Homeschool:
A family can decide to stop homeschooling due to some specific factors. In this case, the school which you want to enroll your child can choose to see the homeschool portfolio to know the performance of the child.
Homeschooling in Colorado is stress-free; all you have to do is to choose a homeschool option that is okay with you and start enjoying your homeschool.
Awesome one, I hope this article helped. Thanks for reading this article.
Sharing is Caring.
Disclaimer: Every information we provide here is not legal advice but as a result of research. We are not an endorsement of any homeschool group.
- Homeschooling in Michigan (Ultimate A-Z Guide)
- Homeschooling in Illinois (A-Z Guide)
- Roadschooling (Ultimate A-Z Guide)
- Georgia Homeschool Laws (Ultimate A-Z Guide)
- Homeschooling in Maine (A-Z Guide)