Homeschooling in South Carolina(SC) has been made easy with the South Carolina Homeschool laws. Unlike some states like Mississippi, where you don’t need a diploma to homeschool your child, South Carolina requires that you have at least a high school diploma or GED(General Education Development) certificate.
The state has made it easy for parents who do not want to go to public schools to have three options for homeschooling. The three options include homeschooling;
- Under a Homeschool Statue
- with the South Carolina Association of Independent Homes schools (SCAIHS)
- with a Homeschool association.
Homeschooling Under a Homeschool Statue:
Application to homeschool
In Homeschooling under a Homeschool statue, there is the board of trustees of your local public school who are in charge of updates concerning South Carolina Homeschool laws. You obtain approval to homeschool your child by applying to homeschool your child.
According to South Carolina Homeschool laws, Record keeping is very important to prove that you actually homeschooled your child. The records are maintained for inspection by the representative of the school district.
For an effective record keeping, you need to keep the following:
- Record of Academic Performance
- A portfolio of child’s tests
- A plan book indicating the subjects you taught and all the activities you indulged in during the course of learning.
Some people might decide to use a Homeschool tracker to keep track of the child’s progress and performance. The records in a Homeschool tracker can be printed to form a portfolio.
Also, the homeschool tracker is not a requirement of South Carolina Homeschool laws, but it helps to reduce the use of pen and paper for record-keeping.
Submit a Semiannual Progress Report:
Unlike in New Mexico Homeschool laws where you submit an annual report of your child’s performance to the superintendent of your school district, the law in SC requires that you provide a semiannual progress report of your child’s grades in each subject to the school district.
Q: Do I have to test my child?
Yes, according to South Carolina Homeschool laws, you can test your child to check the progress and performance level of your child. But there are two major tests administered by the school district employee which are:
- Annual statewide testing program
- Basic Skills Assessment Program
These tests are essential, and the child needs to pass the test with the public school standard to advance to the next grade during Homeschool. If your child didn’t do well in the test, the school district can decide three things:
- Put your child into a Public school
- Receive handicapped services
- provide Instruction support for homeschool where all the expenses are on you.
South Carolina Homeschool laws (A-Z Guide)
Homeschooling with the South Carolina Association of Independent Home schools (SCAIHS):
SCAIHS is a faith-based organization that is accountable for homeschoolers and keeps records of their performance. Membership costs for this option can range from $350-$450 per child, plus additional application and other fees.
SCAIHS is easy if your follow their rules and regulations. Here are some of the features:
- Online reporting
- 15% SCAIHS Bookstore discount
- Homeschooling Curriculum choices for Special Needs.
- Keeping tracks of student’s records and tests.
South Carolina Homeschool laws
Homeschooling with a Homeschool Association:
This is the common option for homeschooling in SC. Here, you enroll your child in an association of homeschoolers with at least 50 member families. The Homeschool association requires that you teach according to this table;
All these subjects are taught for at least 180 days per school year with the parent having at least a high school diploma or a General Education Development (GED).
Record keeping under a homeschool association is the same as that of Homeschool status mentioned above, which includes a plan book, a portfolio for homeschool performance, and a semiannual progress report for attendance.
Enrolling in Public school after Homeschooling:
A time might come when you decide to stop homeschooling in SC and enroll your child into a public school for full exposure to other kids.
In this case, there are no legal requirements governing this process, the school of each district has a way of accessing the child to know his/her performance.
Where are South Carolina Homeschool laws silent?
Letter of Intent:
From the updates made on homeschooling in South Carolina(SC), you do not need to file a letter of intent to homeschool.
No Specific Curriculum:
There is no specific curriculum specified by South Carolina to homeschool the kids. The only indication is that these subjects; Math, writing, Reading, Science, Social Studies, Literature, and Composition should be included in the curriculum.
South Carolina Homeschool Groups:
Homeschooling in South Carolina (SC) is fun if you are a member of homeschool groups where you can meet fellow homeschool parents and have people to get tips from. Here are some of the homeschool groups:
Carolina Homeschooler will help you through your homeschool journey, teaching you how to keep records, creating a connection between homeschoolers and giving you updates on homeschool laws.
They guide you to choose the best curriculum, homeschooling in South Carolina(SC) legally.
Final tips on South Carolina Homeschool laws:
The Unique thing about South Carolina Homeschool laws that makes it a homeschool friendly state is that your child has access to library facilities and books to make learning easier and faster. Thus homeschooling is fun and easy to get along with.
Awesome one, I hope this article helped. Sharing is caring.
Disclaimer: Every information we provide here is not legal advice but as a result of research. We are not an endorsement of any homeschool group.
- New Mexico Homeschool Laws (A- Z Guide)
- Mississippi Homeschool Laws (A-Z Guide)
- Alabama Homeschool laws (A-Z Guide)
- Montana Homeschool laws (A-Z Guide)
- Washington Homeschool Laws (A -Z guide)