The Washington Homeschool Laws are simple; the only thing is that education for the kids needs to be eight years and above; thus, less than the mentioned age will not be approved.
Unlike the Missouri Homeschool laws and the Idaho homeschool laws where the state has little or no control over the homeschool of a child, in the Washington Homeschool Laws, the short regulations are vital to follow.
Qualifications of a Parent according to Washington Homeschool Laws:
Following the Washington Homeschool Laws, these are the qualifications to homeschool your child:
- Earn at least 45 quarter units of college-level credit – According to Wikipedia, in college or university in the United States, students generally receive credit hours based on the number of “contact hours” per week in class.
- Attend Parent Qualifying course: From our recent article on Parent Qualifying Course, the Washington state homeschool parent qualifying course will cover the following:
- Declaration of Intent to homeschool.
- Record-keeping – The way you keep records of your child’s performance, the subjects he/she is doing well, and the way the child can improve.
- Part-time attendance
- Subjects you should teach – The subjects include Math, English, Language, Arts, and Social studies.
3. Have a qualified teacher at least once a week to access your kids
More on Washington state Homeschool Laws
How long do you Homeschool a Child in Washington:
As a single mom or parent homeschooling in Washington, you need to homeschool your child for 180 days on an average of 1000 hours a year. The 1000 hours a year is the least time you can teach your child, though everything is dependent on your child’s capacity to learn and understand well.
According to the Washington Homeschool Laws, the required subjects you should teach includes Maths, English, Science, Language, Spelling, Heath Education, Arts, Occupational Education, Writing.
While you teach these subjects, you provide an annual assessment report of how the child performed in each subject, on the other hand, you can get a qualified person to give your child a standard test that will prove the capability of your child.
The results of the tests form a transcript that will be used for the assessment of the child. All these are in accordance with the Washington Homeschool Laws.
Letter of Intent to Homeschool in Washington:
A letter of intent to homeschool a child is filed using a format provided by the superintendent of the school district. The letter of intent is usually straight to the point stating that you wish to homeschool your child and when you wish to start.
How do I keep Record:
Recording keeping is an essential key for Homeschooling in Washington such that you need to do the following:
- All annual academic records like assessment and test scores should be kept in place because it will compile into a Transcript for future use.
- Immunization records should also be compiled.
There is no specified method according to Washington state Homeschool Laws on how to keep records; you do it the best way you can. Some people decide to use a homeschool tracker to keep records and monitor the progress of your child.
The records could be needed in case you decide to take the child into public school, the records will help the pubic school analyze the child and know the grade to put the child in.
Washington State Homeschool Laws made so that homeschooling will continue to grow all over Washington. The common factor with Washington homeschool laws with other homeschool laws is that the parents have more control over the entire homeschool process.
Awesome one, I hope thus article helped.
Thanks for reading, sharing is caring.
Disclaimer: Every information we provide here is not legal advice but as a result of research. We are not an endorsement of any homeschool group.