Montana Homeschool laws, just like Idaho, Missouri homeschool laws, do not require the parents to meet any requirements to homeschool a child. The only factor is that you need to live in Montana to follow the regulations.
As a parent homeschooling your child in Montana(homeschool friendly state), it’s your responsibility to provide the materials, textbooks needed to homeschool your child correctly.
Requirements according to Montana Homeschool laws:
Letter of Intent to homeschool:
Notify your superintendent every year that you chose to homeschool your child. He will provide you the format for letter of intent to homeschool and attendance letter.
If you don’t provide annual notice to homeschool, the child will be considered truant, which is a huge problem in the United States as a whole.
On the other hand, if you seek to withdraw your child from a public school, you need to provide a notice called “Notice of Withdrawal,” or the school can direct you on how you can do it.
According to Montana Homeschool laws, the number of hours to teach your child is dependent on the grade of the child. Here is a simple table explaining it:
|Grade 1-3||720 hours for one academic year|
|Grade 4-12||1080 hours for one academic year|
|Kindergarten||360 hours for one academic year|
Subjects to be Taught:
Here are the subjects you need to teach your child according to Montana Homeschool laws during the Homeschool period. The good news is that you can use any curriculum of your choice to teach your child. The subjects include:
- Health Education
- Social Studies
- Career Education
You need to keep track of the performance and progress of your child’s education so that you will know how well your child is doing.
Attendance and immunization records are also needed by the superintendent to understand the progress of your child.
An easy way to keep track is to use a Homeschool Tracker to plan your homeschool hours, the tracker removes all record-keeping with pen and paper, and helps you understand how well your child is doing. Check out major tips on the Homeschool Tracker.
In addition, you need to receive a vaccination or submit a waiver, keeping records of all these because they will be needed by the superintendent.
Montana homeschool laws graduation requirements:
When you finish with homeschooling in Montana, you don’t receive a Diploma just like a child that attends Public school. The only requirement to earn a diploma equivalent to that of high school is to take a HiSET Exam.
What is the HiSET Exam? According to HiSET, the exam is one of three tests U.S. states and territories use to measure high school equivalency skills. You take it to demonstrate you have the same skills and knowledge as a high school graduate. And doing so can help you create a whole new future.
The good news is that HiSET credential is accepted everywhere and you get it at your own pace.
Also, the minimum requirement for graduation is a total of 20 units of study from all the subjects, to meet the content standards.
Extra curriculum activities:
Homeschooled students are not allowed to participate in public school sports controlled by Montana High school Association(MHSA).
Homeschool Groups in Montana:
Cascade county homeschoolers: A local homeschool group where you can network and get help in your homeschooling journey.
Ember Educational Co-op: They offer enrichment classes once a week.
Homeschooling in Montana is relaxed if you follow these Montana Homeschool laws stated above. If you want to stop homeschooling your child and go into a public school in Montana, you need to find out the policies from your homeschool group or your school district in Montana.
This shows that homeschool is one of the major legal schooling options for the state of Montana.
Awesome one, I hope this article helped. Thanks for reading this article.
Sharing is Caring.
Disclaimer: Every information we provide here is not legal advice but as a result of research. We are not an endorsement of any homeschool group.